Sharing a Module
You created a fantastic-looking Module. You have an active Base subscription. Now you’re ready to publish and share.
Publishing Overview
When you’re ready to share a Module, you’ll publish it.
- Once published, the Module will be available at an objectsandorder.com URL.
- You can password protect a published Module.
- You can add a published Module to an Objects & Order exhibition.
- You can embed a Module on your own website. An embedded Module will not display Objects & Order branding and will not set cookies.
- If you need to update a published Module, just edit and republish.
- If you unpublish and then republish a Module, it will be available at the same URL.
- To publish a Module, you'll need to have an active subscription plan for your Base.
- To view, embed, and republish a Module, your Base subscription must remain active.
- The Base Owner must grant a Base Member permission to publish Modules in Settings.
- Have a question? Contact us from the Get in touch tab at right.
Publishing
Prior to publishing, we recommend viewing your Module using the Desktop and Mobile view and making any updates or adjustments.
We also recommend reviewing media files:
- Are all image, audio, and video files correct?
- Has alt text been entered for all images?
- Have all necessary rights and permissions been secured?
- Are all captions, including copyright and credit lines, complete and correct?
When you're ready, from the Action menu, select Publish.

Once published, at upper right, you'll notice that the Module has gone from DRAFT to PUBLISHED, and you'll see a link icon, with which you can copy the link to the published Module, and view icon (the eye) at right. To view the Module, click PUBLISHED or the view icon and it will open in a new window.

Navigate to your published Module and review text and images.
Once published, the Module is available at a persistent Objects and Order URL. The Module will not be indexed by search engines (it is No Index, No Follow).


Accessing Modules
From the Modules page, you’ll be able to see all your Modules. You can filter by Drafts or Published, and you can sort by title, date added, date modified, or the number of views. For published Modules, you’ll see a count with the number of views.

Password Protecting a Published Module
Once published, the Module is available at an Objects and Order URL that you can share with others.
If you'd like to password protect it, go to Settings, then Password, and enter a case-sensitive password of 8-128 characters.
After it has been set, you can change or remove the password.
When you share the URL, visitors will receive a message that a password is required.

Editing a Published Module
Is your Module displaying at too large or too small a size? Under Settings, under Layout, you can adjust the minimum and maximum width.
Want to adjust colors, image order, captions, etc.? Just make those updates.
We strongly recommend reviewing the Module for accessibility compliance. Make adjustments for contrast, text sizes, and add any missing alt text.
When you make an update, the option to Save or Save & Publish will appear below.
If you save but don't publish yet, you'll see the Changes not published message with an option to Publish Updates. As a reminder, you'll also see an orange dot after the PUBLISHED status.

Republishing a Published Module
When you edit and publish again using the Save & Publish button, your Module will be updated at its persistent URL. Refresh the page with the published Module to see the updates.
Snapshots
When you publish a Module, it will create a dated and timed snapshot. This allows you to restore a Module from a specific point in time. You can also delete unwanted snapshots by clicking the trashcan icon.
You can't delete the snapshot of Module as currently published.
Adding a Module to an Exhibition
You can add a published Module to an Objects & Order digital exhibition. In the exhibition, when you add a new Block, select Module. The Floating Editor will appear, allowing you to select the Module.
You can adjust the maximum width, alignment, padding, and bottom margin.
Please note: In the Exhibition Builder, if the Module becomes unavailable (for example, if it's unpublished or deleted), a message signaling that the Module is no longer available will appear. If you publish the exhibition, nothing will be displayed for the unavailable Module.
If you do not intend to publish the Module again, remove that Module Block from the exhibition.

Embedding a Module
To embed the Module on your own website, go to Settings, then to Embed.
Under Allowed Origins, enter the site URL at which the Module will be embedded. You can only deploy the Module on one deployment URL.
Copy the short embed code and paste it into your website’s HTML. You may need to add objectsandorder.com to your firewall allowlist and/or to your site’s Content Security Policy (CSP). Need help? Click the Get in touch tab on the right.
Then, override Module CSS variables and styles as necessary.
Please note: If the Module becomes unavailable (for example, if it's unpublished or deleted), a Content Unavailable message will display on the site on which it's embedded.
If you do not intend to publish the Module again, remove the embed code from your site.
As long as your Module remains published, your Base subscription remains active, and the embed code is correctly inserted, the embedded Module will display on your site.
Unpublishing a Module
You may need to temporarily unpublish a Module, or you may decide to unpublish it permanently.
From the menu, select Unpublish. The Module will return to draft form, and the URL for that Module will display a 404 message.
If you republish that same Module again, it will retain the same URL.
Base subscriptions allow for a specific number of published Modules. You might decide to unpublish one Module and then publish another (for example, to showcase a new year of "New Acquisitions").
Deleting a Module
If you decide to delete your Module, unpublish it and then select Delete from the Action menu.
When a Module is deleted, the URL will display a 404 message.
Please note: If you delete a Module that is embedded on your site, a "Content Unavailable" message will be displayed on the site. You must remove the embed code.
Have questions or want a Module demo?